Canada is situated at the north end of the American continent. Its area ranges from the Atlantic Ocean towards the east, the Pacific Ocean to the west, and north to the Arctic Ocean. It occupies nearly half the North American territory since it is the 2nd biggest country after Russia. It borders in America to the south, and also to the northwest with its federal state Alaska.


It is stated that the territory was occupied by Inuits. At an archaeological level, there exists proof that the first residents who first came to Canada, did so through crossing a land bridge that had created in between Asia and Alaska over the last Ice Age about 40,000 years back (More on: canadian visa ).

First colonizers.

History shows that the first European contact the nation got was performed because of the exploration created by the Italian John Cabot, who had been cruising following the orders of King Henry VII of England. In 1497, Cabot ran in to the eastern Canadian coastline and claimed it for the King. This journey, in conjunction with the subsequent one in 1498, gave England the justification to locate a large number of the eastern part of ??North America; in fact, they subsequently claimed Newfoundland, Cape Breton and nearby territories based on the exploits of Cabot.
In 1534, the French traveler, Jacques Cartier, was assigned by King Francisco to have a journey looking for the Northwest Passage. The idea of ??the king was to look for wealth such as those they had seen in Inca and Aztec territory, that is to say, these people were centered on seeking gold above all else, however Cartier just seen “stones and a few horrible and large rocks” based on what he told in his diary.

Source:eTA Canada

British colonizers.

Cartier carried on discovering and landed on the Gaspé Peninsula (Quebec), whose land he claimed for France. French people enjoyed their high-class monopoly for a few decades, however in 1670 British came out with the goal of forging a monopoly of the fur trade, that led to a legal discussion among those who had on their part the discussions on territory control. However, the balance leaned towardsBritain and also France ceded Canada to the English Crown by theTreaty of Paris in 1763.
Then, the Government passed the Constitutional Law of 1791 that split the region into two British colonies known as Upper Canada (presently southern Ontario) and Lower Canada (currently the southern area of Quebec). Lower Canada maintained French civil laws, however the two provinces were governed with the British penal code. Each colony had its assigned ruler and was able to select its cabinet or even executive authorities.

Canada conformation.

Problems increased since the federal government as well as its council were English but led a mostly French assembly, which created political pressure and also rebellions. The suggestions of union quickly appeared but it was not till 1840 that they were raised as regulation. The two colonies quickly merged in the state of Canada, ruled by the completely new Parliament of Canada as being the only legal body.
Finally, it obtained its self-government in 1867 and its autonomy in 1931, carrying on to be a Commonwealth empire. And, Newfoundland, that was until then a domain of the United Kingdom, joined up with Canada in 1949.

Source: kanada wiza